Polar Music Prize 2019 Coveted Award for Anne-Sophie Mutter

13 Feb 2019 – The Swedish Polar Music Prize goes to Anne-Sophie Mutter this year. Other winners include the American Hip-Hop pioneer Joseph Saddler, known as Grandmaster Flash, and the Playing for Change Foundation. This was announced by the jury in Stockholm. Each laureate receives one million Swedish kronor (approx. 101,000 Euros). The awards will be presented by King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden in Stockholm on June 11.

For more than 40 years, Anne-Sophie Mutter has thrilled audiences around the world with her virtuosity and astonishing clarity, the jury declared. “The Queen of the Violin” receives the award because she “is not just one passionate and risk-taking musician – she is also a storyteller.” The jury highlighted her commitment to the performance of traditional works and contemporary composers, many of whom have written pieces for her. The comitee also emphasized her numerous benefit projects and her support for future generations of musicians through her two charitable institutions. “With her passionate commitment to justice, Mutter demonstrates the power and key role of music in the world.”

Anne-Sophie Mutter said: ”It is a huge honour to be in this illustrious group of musicians who have received the Polar Music Prize. I’m deeply honoured and humbled and I can’t wait to come to Stockholm and meet the other recipients.”

About the Polar Music Prize

The Polar Music Prize was founded in 1989 by the late Stig ”Stikkan” Anderson, a true legend in the history of Swedish popular music. Stig Anderson was the publisher, lyricist and manager of ABBA. Anderson conceived the prize as a “Nobel Prize for Music”, as an official Nobel Prize for music does not exist. The name of the prize stems from Anderson’s legendary record label, Polar Music. 

The Polar Music Prize celebrates the power and importance of music and is awarded to individuals, groups or institutions for international recognition of excellence in the world of music. The roll call of former laureates reads like a Who’s Who of music:  Paul McCartney, Dizzy Gillespie, Patti Smith, Bob Dylan, Ravi Shankar, Renee Fleming, Ray Charles, Youssou N’dour, Mstislav Rostropovich and the Kronos Quartet, to name but a few.

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to offer features for social media and to analyze the access to our website. We also share information about your use of our website with our social media, weaving and analytics partners. Our partners may combine this information with other information that you have provided to them or that they have collected as part of your use of the Services. You accept our cookies when you click "Allow cookies" and continue to use this website.

Allow cookies Privacy Policy