2011 - 2023 Virtuosi Tours

World Premiere of “Gran Cadenza” The Mutter Virtuosi Tour 2021

“After Sebastian Currier’s ‘Ringtone Variations’ for Violin and Double Bass during the 2013 tour and André Previn’s ‘Nonet for Two String Quartets and Double Bass’ in 2015, we are happy once again to present our audience with repertoire unheard so far.” - Anne-Sophie Mutter

With 19 performances in Denmark, Germany, France, Luxembourg, Austria and Switzerland, Mutter’s Virtuosi embark on their most extensive and longest concert tour so far in the autumn of 2021. The tour begins in Regensburg on October 21, 2021: Antonio Vivaldi’s Concerto for Four Violins in B-minor Op. 3 No. 10 RV 580 opens the evenings, followed by Unsuk Chin’s “Gran Cadenza”. The exclusive ensemble thereby launches new repertoire, commissioned by Anne-Sophie Mutter. She will play the work’s world premiere in Regensburg with Ye-Eun Choi. During subsequent performances, her partners will rotate from among the eight members of the ensemble’s violin section.

The principle of rotation will also apply in the first piece of the evening – and in Mozart’s String Quintet in E-flat-major K. 614, which is performed after “Gran Cadenza”. The second half of the concert features Vivaldi’s “Four Seasons” – a breath-taking close to a concert programme which poses a challenge to musicians and listeners in equal measure.

The ensemble of soloists led by Anne-Sophie Mutter includes 16 strings this year, complemented by the Norwegian harpsichordist Knut Johannessen. In 2011 Mutter under took the first tour with her Virtuosi; this was followed by tours to Asia in 2013, to North America in 2014, to European summer festivals in 2015, to Germany, France and Spain in 2016 and South America in 2019.

August 2021

NDR Hamburg Journal 9/4/2020: Anne-Sophie Mutter at the Elbphilharmonie (German TV)

The Mutter Virtuosi – Ensemble 2021


  • Ye-Eun Choi
    Ye-Eun Choi
  • Timothy Chooi
    Timothy Chooi
  • Wei Lu
    Wei Lu
    1997 - 2003
  • Mohamed Hiber
    Mohamed Hiber
    Since 2020
  • Carla Marrero
    Carla Marrero
  • Samuel Nebyu
    Samuel Nebyu
    Since 2022
  • Mikhail Ovrutsky
    Mikhail Ovrutsky
    2004 - 2009
  • Linus Roth
    Linus Roth
    1999 - 2003
  • Agata Szymczewska
    Agata Szymczewska
  • Nancy Zhou
    Nancy Zhou
    2008 - 2018


  • Vladimir Babeshko
    Vladimir Babeshko
    2008 - 2018
  • Hwayoon Lee
    Hwayoon Lee
    Since 2011


  • Brannon Cho
    Brannon Cho
    Since 2020
  • Lionel Martin
    Lionel Martin
    Since 2017

Double Bass

  • Roman Patkoló
    Roman Patkoló
    Double Bass
    1999 - 2011
  • Dominik Wagner
    Dominik Wagner
    Double Bass
    Since 2016


  • Knut Johannessen
    Knut Johannessen

Privacy & cookies

We use cookies to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you‘ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services.
Privacy policy