A Resu­mé of the 20th Century – 2000 Back to the Future

Back to the future

Programs 2000 Back to the future

"Back to the Future" is the theme Anne-Sophie Mutter has bestowed upon her five-part concert series for the year 2000. With reflection on both the past and the Future, she presented concert-goers with a kaleidoscope of 20th century violin history. Anne-Sophie Mutterhas been performing together with Kurt Masur, the New York Philharmonic Orchestra (the London Symphony Orchestra in London, Frankfurt and Stuttgart) and her chamber music partners Lambert Orkis (piano) and Daniel Müller-Schott (cello)

Concert 1

Prokofjew: "Romeo and Juliet", Suite No. 1 op. 64a (1936) (excerpts); Berg: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra (In Memory of an Angel) (1935);Sibelius: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra D minor op. 47 (1903)

Concert 2

Lutoslawski: Partita for Violin and Orchestra with Piano Obbligato (1986/87); Interlude for Orchestra (1989), "Chain II" Dialogue for Violin and Orchestra (1984/85); Bernstein: Serenade for Solo Violin and Orchestra (1954); Gershwin: Porgy and Bess - Suite (1935)

Concert 3

Rihm: "Time Chant" - Music for Violin and Orchestra (1991/92); Ravel: "La Valse" (1919); Penderecki: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 2 (1992-1995); Strauss: "Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks" - Symphonic Poem op. 28 (1894/1895).

Recital I

Webern: Four Pieces for Violin and Piano op. 7 (1910); Respighi: Sonata for Violin and Piano H minor (1916-17); Crumb: Four Nocturnes (1964); Bartók: 2nd Sonata for Violin and Piano (1921-22); Ravel: Tzigana - Concerto Rhapsody for Violin and Piano (1924)

Recital II

Pärt: "Fratres" - for Violin and Piano (1980); Schostakowitsch: Trio for Piano, Violin and Violoncello No. 2 E minor op. 67 (1944); Strawinsky: Suite Italienne - for Violin and Piano (1925); Penderecki: Sonata for Violin and Piano, premier performance: 29. April, London

  • Back To The Future
    Back To The Future
    Bartók, Berg, Lutosławski, Moret, Penderecki, Ravel, Rihm, Sibelius, Stravinsky

    BBC Symphony Orchestra, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, André Previn, Staatskapelle Dresden, Wiener Philharmoniker, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Lambert Orkis

Privacy & cookies

We use cookies to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you‘ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services.
Privacy policy